Tom Waits Real Gone

While reading Simon Garfield’s excellent book Just my Type today, I came across a passage about Erik Spierkermann. He described his redesign of the magazine The Economist by saying.

“I never want anyone to pick it up and say ‘What a cool typeface.’ I want them to say, ‘What a cool article.’ I don’t design the notes—that’s what writers do; I do the sound.”

While listening to Tom Waits this evening I glanced at the CD cover and thought to myself could this typography any more accurately represent  the gritty rasp of Wait’s voice? I think the designer of this artwork “did the sound” really well.
Tom Waits-Real Gone

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

